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APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION
OF A MOBILE DENTAL HYGIENE CLINIC (MDHC)

Business & Professions Code (BPC) sections 1926.1, 1926.2, and 1944 and
California Code of Regulations (CCR) Title 16, Division 11 section 1116.

NOTE: ALL questions on this registration/renewal application must be answered, and all
information requested in this registration/renewal must be supplied by the applicant. If something
does not apply to you, please check the “N/A” box. Failure to do so will cause a delay in processing
your registration/renewal. Please type or print legibly; illegible registrations will be returned.

APPLICATION FEES
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE AND MUST ACCOMPANY THIS APPLICATION.

REGISTRATION FEE FOR INITIAL APPLICANTS: $100
BIENNIAL RENEWAL FEE FOR MDHC REGISTRATION: $160

Payment must be made by personal check, cashier’s check, business check, or
money order and must be made payable to “DHBC”.

MDHC OWNER INFORMATION

*Note: The registration information provided in questions 1 and 2 will be used to establish the
expiration date of the registration and will be the point-of-contact for this application.

la. Last Name 1b. First Name

1c. Middle Name

2a. RDHAP License Number: 2b. RDH License Number:

2c. Social Security Number/Individual
Taxpayer Number:

3a. Registered Fictitious Name: [ N/A

3b. Fictitious Name Permit Number:
O N/A

MDHC Registration Number, if renewal:

4. Type of Registration: [0 New Registration [ Registration Renewal
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ADDRESS OF RECORD/MAILING ADDRESS FOR RDHAP*(REQUIRED)

*The address of record will be posted on the internet and be disclosed to the public upon request (see
BPC section 1902.2 and Government Code section 7922.530(a)).

The Board shall be notified within thirty (30) days of any change in the RDHAP owner’s address of
record.

5. Physical Address of Record (Number and Street) (including apartment number, if applicable)

City State Zip Code

6. Email Address 7. RDHAP’s Contact Number

ADDRESS OF RECORD/MAILING ADDRESS FOR MDHC* (REQUIRED)

*The address of record will be posted on the internet and be disclosed to the public upon request (see
BPC section 1902.2 and Government Code section 7922.530(a)).

The owner shall maintain a physical address of record for the MDHC registered with the Board and shall
notify the Board in writing of any change in that address within thirty (30) days of the change.

8. Physical Address of Record (Number and Street) (including apartment number, if applicable)

City State Zip Code

9. MDHC’s Email Address 10. MDHC’s Contact Number

MDHC REQUIREMENTS

11. Does the MDHC'’s owner have a written procedure** that specifies the
means of obtaining emergency follow-up care for patients treated in the
MDHC as required by 16 CCR section 1116?

LIYES* [LINO

*If YES, provide a copy (labeled as Exhibit 1). For renewals, attach a copy
if the written procedure has changed from initial registration. If no changes

have been made check this box: [0 N/A

**The procedure shall include arrangements for treatment by a licensed
dentist or physician whose place of practice is established within the city or
county in which the MDHC provides or intends to provide dental hygiene
services.
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MDHC REQUIREMENTS

12. Does the MDHC'’s owner have a relationship with at least one licensed
dentist located in California for referral, consultation, and emergency
services pursuant to 16 CCR section 11177

LYES* | LINO

*If YES, provide a copy (labeled as Exhibit 2) of your completed
“‘Documentation of Registered Dental Hygienist In Alternative Practice
(RDHAP) Relationship with Dentist” (form RDHAP-01 (07-2021) with this
application as set forth in 16 CCR section 1117. For renewals, attach a copy
if this information has changed from initial registration. If no changes have

been made check this box: O N/A

13. Does the MDHC owner have telephone service for the MDHC that it can
access twenty-four (24) hours per day that enables the owner or any provider
of dental hygiene services to contact emergency responders,
medical/dental/dental hygiene clinics, care facility or school staff, guardians,
and designated family members, in the event of a medical or dental
emergency?

LJYES | LINO

14.1s there a telephone number where patients are able to contact the MDHC’s
owner or provider with questions, concerns, or emergency needs, and have
their calls returned within four (4) calendar days?

LJYES | LINO

15. If a live person is not available to answer calls, does the telephone line include
a recorded message with information about whom to contact in caseof a
dental emergency?

LIYES | LINO

16. Will the owner comply with all state and local laws and ordinances regarding

business licensing and operations? LYES | LINO

17. Will the MDHC owner obtain and maintain all state and local licenses and
permits necessary to provide the dental hygiene services being rendered by
the applicant or provider at the MDHC, including a local or county business
license, a fictitious name permit as provided in BPC section 1962 if applicable,
and/or a seller's permit if a permit is required under the Sales andUse Tax Law,
Part 1 (sections 6001 through 6024) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation
Code?

*A copy of each current license and permit shall be submitted with the
application to include a local or county business license, a fictitious name
permit as provided in BPC section 1962 if applicable, and/or a seller's permitif
a permit is required under the Sales and Use Tax Law, Part 1 (sections 6001
through 6024) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. If yes,
provide copies and label as Exhibit 3.

LIYES* | LINO

18. Does the MDHC'’s radiographic operatory comply with California Radiation
Control Regulations (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 17, Div. 1, Ch.5, Subchapter 4, 88 LYES | LINO
30100 through 30395)7?
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MDHC REQUIREMENTS

19. Does the driver of the MDHC possesses a current, active and unrestricted LIYES* | LINO
California driver's license?

*If YES, please provide the Name of the Driver, Driver’s License Number and
Date of Expiration here:

Name of Driver:

Driver License #: Expiration Date:

20. The MDHC owner acknowledges receiving notice that the MDHC must
maintain all dental hygiene patient treatment records and communications
relating to the care and treatment of the patient following the discharge of a
patient for a minimum of seven years (see 16 CCR section 1116 for the
minimum MDHC operating standards).

LIYES | LINO

21. Does the MDHC’s owner use infection control equipment and follow
infection control procedures according to the requirements of 16 CCR
section 1005?

LIYES | LINO

22. Does the MDHC comply with HIPAA’s security standards in Subpart C of Part
164, 45 C.F.R. §8164.302 through 164.318, with respect to the patient’s LUYES | LINO
“ProtectedHealth Information (PHI)*?

For the purposes of this question, PHI, as defined in section 1320d of Title 42
of the United States Code, includes a patient’s medical history, or dental
history, which is a written record of the patient’s personal health history that
provides information about allergies, illnesses, surgeries, immunizations, and
results of physical exams and tests.

23. Is the MDHC readily accessible to and useable by individuals with disabilities
pursuant to the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)(42 LYES | LINO
U.S.C. 8812101 through 12212), in accordance with the ADA’s implementing
rules under 28 C.F.R Part 36 and Subparts A-D of Part 36?

24.Does the MDHC have access to a sufficient water supply to meet patients’

health and safety needs* at all times, including hot water? LYES | LINO
*Water quality shall meet guidelines set forth in the “Guidelines for Infection
Control in Dental Health-Care Settings — 2003” from the Centers for Disease
Control and Prevention, in addition to the “Safe Drinking Water Act.” (42
U.S.C. 88300f through 300j-27.)

25. Does the MDHC have access to toilet facilities available to staff and the
patients of the MDHC? LIYES | [INO

26. Does the MDHC have a covered galvanized, stainless steel, or other

noncorrosive metal container for deposit of refuse and waste materials? UYES | LINO

27.Does the MDHC have a working Automated External Defibrillator (AED)? LJYES | LINO
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MDHC REQUIREMENTS

28. If an RDHAP administers local anesthesia or performs soft tissue
curettage pursuant to 16 CCR section 1118, doesBees the MDHC
have a self-contained, portable emergency oxygen unit with
administration equipment (wheeled cart with oxygen cylinder, variable
regulator, demand valve system, supplemental adult and child
oxygen masks, hoses, and nasal cannulas) to assist with
administration of basic life support?

LIYES | ONO | CIN/A*

*Not applicable if reqgistering or renewing a MDHC and the RDHAP
does not administer local anesthesia or perform soft tissue curettage
pursuant to 16 CCR section 1118, check the “N/A” box.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

29. Have you reviewed BPC sections 1926.1, 1926.2, and 1944, and 16 CCR COJYES | CINO
sections 1116,anrd 1117, and 11187 Please be advised that failure to comply
with theseprovisions is grounds for denial or revocation of the registration.

REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION

| hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all licensed persons
practicing at the location designated in the registration hold valid licenses and no charges of
unprofessional conduct are pending against any person practicing at that location [BPC section
1962(b)(4)].

| hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that | have read the
foregoing registration application and that all information, statements, attachments, and representations
provided by me in this application are true and correct. By submitting the application and signing below, |
am granting permission to the Board or its assignees and agents to verify the information provided and to
perform any investigation pertaining to the information | have provided as the Board deems necessary.

NOTICE: FALSIFICATION OR MISREPRESENTATION OF ANY ITEM OR RESPONSE ON THIS
REGISTRATION OR ANY ATTACHMENT HERETO IS GROUNDS FOR DENYING OR REVOKING
THE REGISTRATION.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE: DATE:

PRINTED NAME:

NOTICES
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The Dental Hygiene Board of California of the Department of Consumer Affairs collects the personal
information requested on this form as authorized by Business and Professions Code Sections 1926.1 and
1926.2, and California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Section 1116. The Dental Hygiene Board of California
uses this information principally to identify and evaluate applicants for registration and to enforce licensing
standards set by law and regulation.

MANDATORY SUBMISSION:
Submission of the requested information is mandatory. The Dental Hygiene Board of California
cannotconsider your registration unless you provide all the requested information.

ACCESS TO PERSONAL INFORMATION:

You may review the records maintained by the Dental Hygiene Board of California that contain your
personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act. See below for contact
information.

POSSIBLE DISCLOSURE OF PERSONAL INFORMATION:
We make every effort to protect the personal information you provide us. The information you provide,
however, may be disclosed in the following circumstances:

* In response to a Public Records Act request (Government Code Sections 7920.000 through
7931.000), as allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code Sections 1798 through
1798.78);

* To another government agency as required by state or federal law; or

* Inresponse to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant.

MANDATORY DISCLOSURE OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)
is mandatory. Sections 30 and 31 of the Business and Professions Code authorize collection of your
SSN or ITIN, which will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for investigation of tax
evasion andviolations of cash-pay reporting laws as set forth in Section 329 of the Unemployment
Insurance Code, for purposes of compliance with any judgement or order for family support in
accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, for measurement of employment outcomes of
students who participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community
Colleges, or for verification of license or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which
utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to
disclose your SSN or ITIN, your application for initial licensure will not be processed AND you may be
reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you.

STATE TAX OBLIGATION NOTICE:

The California State Board of Equalization (BOE) and the California Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may
share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay your state tax obligation and your
registration may be suspended, or your renewal application denied if the state tax obligation is not
paid, and your name appears on either the BOE or FTB certified list of top 500 tax delinquencies
(Sections 31and 494.5 of the California Business and Professions Code).

CONTACT INFORMATION:
For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may contact the Executive Officer
as follows:

Dental Hygiene Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350
Sacramento, CA 95815

(916) 263-1978
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MANDATORY SUBMISSION:
Submission of the requested information is mandatory. The Dental Hygiene Board of California cannot
consider your registration unless you provide all the requested information.

ACCESS TO PERSONAL INFORMATION:
You may review the records maintained by the Dental Hygiene Board of California that contain your
personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act. See below for contact information.

POSSIBLE DISCLOSURE OF PERSONAL INFORMATION:
We make every effort to protect the personal information you provide us. The information you provide,
however, may be disclosed in the following circumstances:

In response to a Public Records Act request (Government Code Sections 7920.000 through
7931.000), as allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code Sections 1798 through

1798.78);

To another government agency as required by state or federal law; or
In response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant.

MANDATORY DISCLOSURE OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) is
mandatory. Sections 30 and 31 of the Business and Professions Code authorize collection of your SSN
or ITIN, which will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for investigation of tax evasion and
violations of cash-pay reporting laws as set forth in Section 329 of the Unemployment Insurance Code,
for purposes of compliance with any judgement or order for family support in accordance with Section
17520 of the Family Code, for measurement of employment outcomes of students who participate in
career technical education programs offered by the California Community Colleges, or for verification of
license or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination
and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your SSN or ITIN, your
application for initial licensure will not be processed AND you may be reported to the Franchise Tax

Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you.

STATE TAX OBLIGATION NOTICE:
The California State Board of Equalization (BOE) and the California Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may
share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay your state tax obligation and your
registration may be suspended, or your renewal application denied if the state tax obligation is not paid,
and your name appears on either the BOE or FTB certified list of top 500 tax delinquencies (Sections 31
and 494.5 of the California Business and Professions Code).

CONTACT INFORMATION:
For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may contact the Executive Officer as
follows:

Dental Hygiene Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350
Sacramento, CA 95815

(916) 263-1978

INTERNAL OFFICE USE ONLY

Date Received: Receipt #:

O Initial O Renewal | $ Amount:

File #:

Registration #:

RDHAP Lic. Exp. Date:

Date Issued:

Analyst:
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TITLE 16. DENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA - DEPARTMENT OF
CONSUMER AFFAIRS

PROPOSED TEXT

Legend: Added text is indicated with an underline.
Deleted text is indicated by strikeout.

Amend Section 1116 in Article 4 of Division 11 of Title 16 of the California
Code of Regulations (CCR) to read as follows:

Article 4. Licensing
§ 1116. Mobile Dental Hygiene Clinics; Issuance of Approval.

(a) Definitions. For the purposes of this section, unless otherwise specified,
the following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Active patient” refers to a patient of record whom the owner or provider has
examined, treated, or cared for within the two (2) year period prior to
discontinuation of practice, or the owner or provider moving from or leaving the
city in which services were provided to the patient.

(2) “Communication capability” means an owner has telephone service they
can access twenty-four (24) hours per day.

(3) “Dental hygiene services” means the professional practices of a registered
dental hygienist in alternative practice (RDHAP) as set forth in Business and
Professions Code section (BPC) section 1925.

(4) “Equipment” means any tool, instrument, or device used by an RDHAP to
provide dental hygiene services.

(5) A “mobile dental hygiene clinic (MDHC)” means any self-contained facility in
which dental hygiene services are rendered that may be moved, towed, or
transported from one location to another. This term shall not include
equipment used and transported by licensed RDHAPSs in discharging their
duties in locations or settings authorized by BPC section 1926.

(6) “Necessary parties” means emergency responders, medical/dental/dental
hygiene clinics, care facility or school staff, guardians, and designated
family members.
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(7) “Owner” means an individual who applies for registration or operates an
MDHC, is responsible for the MDHC’s registration, and is licensed to practice
dental hygiene in alternative practice pursuant to BPC section 1922.

(8) "Patient of record" refers to a patient who has had a medical and dental history
completed and evaluated, had oral conditions assessed and documented, and
had a written dental hygiene care plan, as defined in California Code of
Regulations (CCR), Title 16, section 1100(g), developed by the RDHAP.

(9) “Patient treatment records” shall include the patient’s dental history
maintained by the MDHC related to medical history, dental hygiene
evaluation(s), dental hygiene diagnesis{es)care plan, dental hygiene
procedures and treatment, response to dental hygiene treatment,
documented consultations with other dental care and healthcare providers,
and referrals for dental care and healthcare follow-up treatment.

(10) “Protected Health Information (PHI)” means the patient’s “individually
identifiable health information” as defined in section 1320d of Title 42 of the
United States Code. PHI includes a patient’s medical history, or dental
history, which is a written record of the patient’s personal health history that
provides information about allergies, illnesses, surgeries, immunizations, and
results of physical exams and tests.

(11) “Provider” means an individual licensed to practice dental hygiene in
alternative practice or dentist who provides dental hygiene treatment and/or
services in an MDHC, but who is not necessarily the owner registering the
MDHC.

(b) Application for Registration. An RDHAP who wishes to operate an MDHC in any
setting authorized by BPC section 1926 shall apply to the Board for registration of
an MDHC with the Board by submitting a completed application to the Board. A
completed application shall include the following:

(1) A completed “Application for Registration of a Mobile Dental Hygiene Clinic
(MDHC)” (DHBC MDHC-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025)), which is
hereby incorporated by reference;

(2) All documents required by form DHBC MDHC-01 (New-11/2022Amended
11/2025); and,

(3) Payment of an initial registration fee of $100.
(c) Abandonment; Grounds for Denial, Withdrawal, Citation or Issuance of Registration.

(1) An applicant for a license who fails to complete registration application
requirements set forth in subdivision (b) within one year after being notified
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bythe Board of deficiencies in their application, shall be deemed to have
abandoned the application and shall be required to file a new application
and meet all of the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.

(2) The Board may deny, place on probation, issue a citation, or withdraw a
registration as provided in BPC section 1926.1 for failure to meet the
requirements of this section. For the purposes of this section and BPC
section 1926.1, a registration may be withdrawn if compliance with this
section is not demonstrated within 60 days from the date of written notice of
the areas of noncompliance found by the Board and/or upon a final
decision, pursuant to 16 CCR section 1142, thereby upholding the
withdrawal in accordance with the notice and hearing procedures contained
in the Administrative Procedure Act (Sections 11500 through 11529 of the
Government Code).

(3) Upon meeting the requirements of subdivision (b), an MDHC shall be
registered with the Board and the RDHAP operator shall be issued an MDHC
registration.

(d) Minimum Operating Requirements.

(1) The MDHC applicant or owner shall meet all of the following requirements to
obtain or maintain registration of the MDHC as required by BPC sections
1926.1 and 1926.2 and this section:

(A) The owner has a written procedure that specifies the means of obtaining
emergency follow-up care for patients treated in the MDHC. The procedure
shall include arrangements an RDHAP must make for treatment by a
licenseddentist or physician whose place of practice is established within
the city or county in which the MDHC provides or intends to provide dental
hygiene services. A copy of these written procedures shall be given to each
provider at the MDHC prior to any dental hygiene services being performed
on a patient.

(B) An owner shall maintain a relationship with at least one licensed
dentistlocated in California for referral, consultation, and emergency
services pursuant to 16 CCR section 1117.

(C) The owner has communication capability that enables the owner to
contact necessary parties in the event of a medical or dental emergency.

(D) The owner shall maintain a telephone number where patients are able to
contact the MDHC owner or provider with questions, concerns, or
emergency needs and have their calls returned within four (4) calendar
days. If a live person is not available to answer calls, the telephone line
shall include a recorded message with information about whom to contact
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in case of a dental emergency after receiving dental hygiene services.

(E) The owner shall comply with all state and local laws and ordinances
regarding business licensing and operations, and shall obtain and maintain
all state and local licenses and permits necessary to provide the dental
hygiene services being rendered by the applicant or provider at the MDHC,
including a local or county business license, a fictitious name permit as
provided in BPC section 1962 if applicable, and/or a seller's permit if a
permit is required under the Sales and Use Tax Law, Part 1 (sections 6001
through 6024) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

(F) If the owner or any provider performs radiographs, a radiographic
operatory must be used that complies with California Radiation Control
Regulations. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 17, Div. 1, Ch.5, Subchapter 4,
8830100 through 30395.)

(G)The driver of the MDHC shall possess a current, active, and
unrestricted California driver's license.

(2) Official Place of Business and Maintenance of Records.

(A) The owner shall maintain a physical address of record for the MDHC
registered with the Board and shall notify the Board in writing of any
changein that address within thirty (30) days of the change.

(B) An owner shall include the name of the MDHC (including any fictitious
name authorized by BPC section 1962), physical address of record and
MDHC registration number for all forms of advertisement, solicitation, or
other presentments made to the public in connection with the rendition of
dental hygiene services, including any advertisement, card, letterhead,
telephone listing, Internet Web site, written solicitation or communications
to a prospective patient or patients, or contract proposal.

(C) All dental hygiene patient treatment records and communications relating
to the care and treatment of the patient following the discharge of a patient
shall be maintained by the owner for a minimum of seven (7) years.

(3) In addition to the other minimum operating requirements of this section,
each MDHC shall:

(A) Use infection control equipment and follow infection control procedures
according to the requirements of 16 CCR section 1005.

(B) Comply with HIPAA's security standards in Subpart C of Part 164, 45 C.F.R.
§§164.302 through 164.318, with respect to the patient’s PHI. For the
purposes of this section “HIPAA” means the Health Insurance Portability
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and Accountability Act of 1996 (42 U.S.C. 881320d - 1320d-8) as
amended by subsequent legislation and the implementation of Privacy,
Security, and Enforcement Rules under 45 C.F.R. Part 160 and
Subparts A, C, D, and E of Part 164.

(C)Be readily accessible to and useable by individuals with disabilities
pursuant to the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)(42
U.S.C. 8812101 through 12212), in accordance with the ADA’s
implementing rules under 28 C.F.R Part 36 and Subparts A-D of Part 36.
For the purposes of this section,“disability” has the meaning set forth in
Section 51 of the Civil Code.

(D)Have access to a sufficient water supply to meet patients' health and safety
needs at all times, including hot water. Water quality shall meet guidelines
setforth in the “Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care
Settings — 2003” from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(CDC), in additionto the “Safe Drinking Water Act.” (42 U.S.C. 88300f
through 300j-27.)

(E) Have toilet facilities available to staff and patients of the MDHC.

(F) Have a covered galvanized, stainless steel, or other noncorrosive
metal container for deposit of refuse and waste materials.

(G)Have a working Automated External Defibrillator (AED).

H(4) If an RDHAP administers local anesthesia or performs soft tissue
curettage pursuant to 16 CCR section 1118, an RDHAP shall have
availableHave a self-contained, portable emergency oxygen unit with
administration equipment (wheeled cart with oxygen cylinder, variable
regulator, demand valve system, supplemental adult and child oxygen masks,
hoses, and nasalcannulas) to assist with administration of basic life support.

4)(5) Each MDHC owner shall notify the Board in writing within thirty (30) days
of any change in operational status or ownership of the MDHC.

5)(6) An RDHAP operator shall provide access during business hours to the
RDHAP’s records and facility to the Board, or its authorized representative(s), to
review the MDHC for compliance with all laws, regulations, and standards
applicable to MDHCs including, but not limited to, the BPC, CCR, CDC, and
HIPAA.

(e) Transferability. An MDHC registration is not transferable.

() Renewal. An MDHC registration shall expire at the same time as the
registration holder’'s RDHAP license.
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(1) To renew the MDHC, an owner shall submit a completed renewal application
that includes the following:

(A) Form DHBC MDHC-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025);

(B) A biennial renewal fee in the amount of $160; and

(C) All supporting documentation required by form DHBC MDHC-01
(New-11/2022Amended 11/2025).

(2) Renewal of each MDHC registration shall be accomplished by submission of
the form DHBC MDHC-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025), fee, and
documentation required in subdivision (f)(1) by either:

(A) Electronic submission through a web link to the Department of Consumer
Affairs’ online licensing system entitled “BreEZe” located on the Board’s
website at: https://www.dhbc.ca.gov/ using the “BREEZE” tab or the
“BreEZeOnline System” portal tabs or at:
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/loginCADCA.do; or

(i) The owner and operator shall first register for a user account by creating
a username and password.

(i) The owner and operator shall provide all required documentation
referenced in (f)(1) through the link referenced in subdivision (f)(2)(A)
ofthis section. With respect to the application, the owner and operator
may submit form DBHC MDHC-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025)
through BreEZe or electronically submit the same information that is
requested by that form directly through BreEZe.

(iii) Electronic Signature: When a signature is required by the particular
instructions of any filing to be made through the online portal, including
any attestation under penalty of perjury, the owner shall affix their
electronic signature to the filing by typing their name in the appropriate
field and submitting the filing via the Board'’s online portal. Submission of
a filing in this manner shall constitute evidence of legal signature by any
individual whose name is typed on the filing.

(B) Submission of all required documentation referenced in subdivision (f)(1)
by mail to the Board’s physical address.

(g) Exemptions. MDHCs that fall within the definition of BPC section 1926.2(b)
are exempt from the requirements of this section.

(h) Identification of Personnel, Notification of Changes in Written Procedures,
and Display of Licenses.
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(1) The owner shall advise the Board in writing within thirty (30) days of any
change to any of the information provided to the Board in application form
DHBC MDHC-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025), whether for initial or
renewal.

(2) Each RDHAP or any other provider licensed by the Board to provide dental
hygiene services in the MDHC shall prominently display evidence of their
California RDHAP or other Board license in a conspicuous location accessible
to public view on the premises where the RDHAP or other Board licensee
provides the licensed services pursuant to BPC section 680.

(3) A licensed RDHAP engaged in the practice of dental hygiene shall provide
notice to each patient of the fact the RDHAP is licensed and regulated by the
Board.

(A) The notice shall include the following statement and information:

NOTICE:

Dental Hygienists in Alternative Practice are licensed and
regulated by the Dental Hygiene Board of California
(916) 263-1978
www.dhbc.ca.gov

(B) The notice required by this section shall be provided by prominently posting
the notice in a conspicuous location accessible to public view on the
premises where the RDHAP provides the licensed services, and the notice
shall be in at least 48-point type font.

(i) Identification of Location of Services.

(1) Each owner of an MDHC shall maintain a confidential written or electronic
record detailing the following information for each patient to whom services are
provided:

(A) Name of patient served;

(B) Closest street address near the service location of the MDHC where
service was provided;

(C) Date of each treatment session; and
(D) Types of dental hygiene services provided to each patient.
(2) The confidential written or electronic record shall be made available to a

representative of the Board within fifteen (15) days of the date of the
Board’s written request pursuant to BPC section 1955.
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() Cessation of Operation.

(1) Upon cessation of operation of an MDHC, the owner shall notify the Board in
writing within thirty (30) days after the last day of operation and inform the
Board of the final disposition of patient treatment records, including the
physical mailing address or location where the treatment records are
maintained and the name, telephone number and address for the custodian of
records or other person whom the owner designates as responsible for
maintaining those records.

(2) If an MDHC is sold to another RDHAP, that RDHAP (“succeeding MDHC
owner”) must register with the Board by filing a new form DHBC MDHC-01
(New-11/2022Amended 11/2025) and comply with this section prior to
operating the MDHC.

(3) Upon cessation of operation of an MDHC, the previous owner shall preserve
all records for a minimum of seven (7) years.

(4) Within thirty (30) days before the last day of operation, the owner shall provide
written notice via first class mail to all active patients of record of the date of
closure or cessation of the MDHC, including the last date the MDHC will
remain open, and the name, telephone number and address of an individual
the patient may contact to request transfer of copies of their patient treatment
records to a succeeding MDHC owner or to the patient. The owner shall
maintain proof the notice was provided to all active patients in accordance with
this section and upon request to the Board in accordance with BPC section
1955. Within fifteen (15) days of receipt of a written request by the patient, the
owner shall also provide for the transfer of copies of the patient’s treatment
records, including radiographs, to the succeeding MDHC owner or to the
patient as specified by the patient. In addition, the owner shall provide written
acknowledgement of receipt of the patient’s request to the patient within five
(5) business days of receipt of the written request, and also notify the patient of
the method and date of expected delivery of the patient’s treatment records.

(5) “Proof the notice was provided” shall mean proof of service of any notice
required by this section to patients by mail by completion of a document
showing the document’s name and the person served, the person making
service, and the date and manner of service (e.g., by first class mail, regular
mail, or in person). Proof of service shall be in writing, but need not be signed,
signed under oath, or in any particular format.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1905, 1906, 1926.1, 1926.2 and 1944, Business and
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 125.6, 137, 138, 142, 680, 1922, 1925,
1926, 1926.1, 1926.2, 1955 and 1962, Business and Professions Code.
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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF
DENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA
&J CONSUMER CENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA
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PHYSICAL FACILITY REGISTRATION/RENEWAL FOR
REGISTERED DENTAL HYGIENISTS IN ALTERNATIVE PRACTICE (RDHAPS)

Business & Professions Code (BPC) sections 1905, 1906, 1926.3,1926.4, and 1944, and
California Code of Regulations (CCR) Title 16, Division 11 section 1116.5.

NOTE: ALL questions on this registration/renewal application must be answered, and all
information requested in this registration/renewal must be supplied by the applicant. If something
does not apply to you, please check the “N/A” box. Failure to do so may cause a delay in
processing your registration/renewal. Please type or print neatly; illegible registrations will be
returned.

APPLICATION FEES
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE AND MUST ACCOMPANY APPLICATION

NO FEE FOR PRIMARY PHYSICAL FACILITY OR
PORTABLE EQUIPMENT REGISTRAHON
REGISTRATION FEE FOR EACH ADDITIONAL PHYSICAL FACILITY: $160

BIENNIAL RENEWAL FEE FOR EACH ADDITIONAL PHYSICAL FACILITY: $250

Payment must be made by personal check, cashier’s check, business check, or
money order and must be made payable to “DHBC”.

RDHAP INFORMATION

*Note: The registration information provided in questions 1 and 2 will be used to establish the
expiration date of the registration and will be the point-of-contact for this application.

la. Last Name 1b. First Name 1c. Middle Name

2a. RDHAP License Number 2b. RDH License Number 2c. Social Security Number/Individual
Taxpayer Number:

3a. Registered Fictitious Name: [0 N/A 3b. Fictitious Name Permit Number:
O N/A

4. Type of Registration (check all that apply):
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ADDRESS OF RECORD/MAILING ADDRESS FOR RDHAP* (REQUIRED)

*The address of record will be posted on the internet and be disclosed to the public upon request (see
BPC 1902.2 and Government Code section 7922.530(a)).
The Board shall be notified within thirty (30) days of any change in the RDHAP owner’s address of

record.

5. Number and Street (including apartment number, if applicable):

City

State

Zip Code

6. Email Address

7. RDHAP Contact Number

ADDRESS OF PHYSICAL FACILITY* (REQUIRED)

*The RDHAP owner shall maintain a physical address of record for the physical facility or facilities
registered with the Board and shall notify the Board in writing of any change in that address within thirty

(30) days of the change.

8. Number and Street (including suite number, if applicable)

City

State

Zip Code

9. Physical Facility’s Email Address

10. Physical Facility’s Contact Number

DHBC HAPR-01 (New-11/2022 Afended 7/2025)
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PHYSICAL FACHHYRDHAP OWNER REQUIREMENTS

11. Does the physicalfacility'sRDHAP owner have a written procedure**
that specifies the means of obtaining emergency follow-up care for
patients treated at the physical facility or during use of portable
equipment-as required by 16 CCR section £3161116.5?

OYES* | LINO | CIN/A*

*Provide a copy (labeled as Exhibit 1) if initial registration or written
procedure has changed from initial registration. If no changes have

been made check thisthe "N/A” box.:-E-N/A

**The procedure shall include arrangements for treatment in a dental
facility which is established within the city or county in which the
RDHAP owner or provider provides dental hygiene services.

12.Does the physicalfacilitysRDHAP owner have a relationship with at
least one licensed dentist located in California for referral,
consultation, and emergency services pursuant to 16 CCR section
11177?

OYES* | LINO | CIN/A*

*If yes, provide a copy (labeled as Exhibit 2) of your completed
“Documentation of Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative Practice
(RDHAP) Relationship with Dentist” (form RDHAP-01 (07-2021) with
this application as set forth in 16 CCR section 1117. For renewals,
attach a copy if this information has changed from initial registration. If

no changes have been made check thistheN/A boxi:—E-NA

13.1s there a telephone number where patients are able to contact the
physicalfacility'sRDHAP owner or provider with questions, concerns, LYES | LINO
or emergency needs, and have their calls returned within four (4)
calendar days?

14. If a live person is not available to answer calls, does the telephone

line include a recorded message with information about whom to LYES | LINO
contact in case of a dental emergency after receiving dental hygiene
services?

15. Will the RDHAP owner comply with all state and local laws and OYES | CINO

ordinances regarding business licensing and operations?

16. Will the physicatfacilityRDHAP owner obtain and maintain all state COYES* | [OINO
and local licenses and permits necessary to provide the dental
hygiene services being rendered by the applicant or provider at the
physical facility including a local or county business license, a
fictitious name permit as provided in BPC section 1962 if applicable,
and/or a seller's permit if a permit is required under the Sales and
Use Tax Law, Part 1 (sections 6001 through 6024) of Division 2 of
the Revenue and Taxation Code?

*A copy of each current license and permit shall be submitted with
the application to include a local or county business license, a county
building permit, a fictitious name permit as provided in Section 1962
of the BPC, and/or a seller's permit if a permit is required under the
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PHYSICAL FACHHYRDHAP OWNER REQUIREMENTS

Sales and Use TaxLaw, Part 1 (sections 6001 through 6024) of
Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Provide copies and
label as Exhibit 3.

17. Does the physical facility’s radiographic operatory comply with LIYES | XINO | CIN/A*
California Radiation Control Regulations (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 17,
Div. 1, Ch.5, Subchapter 4, 8830100 through 30395)?

*Not applicable to Physical Eacility to Maintain Portable Equipment
Registration or Renewal. If registering or renewing registration of a
physical facility to maintain portable equipment check thisthe “N/A”

boxi—E-NA

18. The RDHAP owner acknowledges receiving notice that the physical COYES | CINO
facility must maintain all dental hygiene patient treatment records
and communications relating to the care and treatment of the patient
following the discharge of a patient a minimum of seven years (see
16 CCR section 1116.5 for the minimum physical facility operating
standards).

19. Bees\Will the physical-facility’'sRDHAP owner use infection control COYES | ONO
equipment and follow infection control procedures according to the
requirements of 16 CCR section 1005?

20. DeesWill the physical-facilityRDHAP owner comply with HIPAA’s LIYES | LINO
security standards in Subpart C of Part 164, 45 C.F.R. §8164.302
through 164.31, with respect to the patient’s “Protected Health
Information (PHI)"?

For the purposes of this question, PHI, as defined in section 1320d of
Title 42 of the United States Code, includes a patient’s medical
history, or dental history, which is a written record of the patient’s
personal health history that provides information about allergies,
illnesses, surgeries, immunizations, andresults of physical exams and
tests.

21. Is the physical facility readily accessible to and usable by individuals OYES | ONO | EINJA*
with disabilities pursuant to the federal Americans with Disabilities o
Act of 1990(ADA)(42 U.S.C. 8812101 through 12212), in
accordance with the ADA’s implementing rules under 28 C.F.R Part
36 and Subparts A-D of Part 36?

*Not applicable to Physical Facility to Maintain Portable Equipment
Registration or Renewal. If registering or renewing registration of a
physical facility to maintain portable equipment check thisthe “N/A”

boxi—E-NA
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PHYSICAL FACILITYRDHAP OWNER REQUIREMENTS

22. Does the physical facility have access to a sufficient water supply
to meet patients’ health and safety needs at all times, including
hot water?

LIYES LINO

*Water quality shall meet guidelines set forth in the “Guidelines for
Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings — 2003” from the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in addition to the “Safe
Drinking Water Act.” (42 U.S.C. 88300f through 300j-27.)?

23. Does the physical facility have toilet facilities within the dental hygiene
facility available to staff and the public?

LIYES LINO

24. Does the physical facility have a covered galvanized, stainless steel,
or other noncorrosive metal container for deposit of refuse and waste
materials?

LIYES LINO

25. Does the physical facility have a working Automated External
Defibrillator (AED)? OYES | ONO

Portable Equipment

*Not applicable to
Registration

. If registering
portable equipment check

26. Does the physical facility have a self-contained, portable emergency

oxygen unit with administration equipment (wheeled cart with oxygen LIYES LINO
cylinder, variable regulator, demand valve system, supplemental adult
and child oxygen masks, hoses, and nasal cannulas) to assist with
administration of basic life support?
27. Have you reviewed BPC sections 1926.3, 1926.4, and 1944, and LIYES LINO

16 CCRsections 1116.5}-and 1117,and 11187 Please be advised
that failure to comply with these provisions is grounds for denial
or revocation of the registration.

REGISTRATION CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all licensed persons
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practicing at the location designated in the registration hold valid licenses and no charges of
unprofessional conduct are pending against any person practicing at that location [BPC section
1962(b)(4)].

| hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that | have read the
guestions in the foregoing registration and that all information, statements, attachments, and
representations provided by me in this registration are true and correct. By submitting the registration
and signing below, | am granting permission to the Board or its assignees and agents to verify the
information provided and to perform any investigation pertaining to the information | have provided as the
Board deems necessary.

NOTICE: FALSIFICATION OR MISREPRESENTATION OF ANY ITEM OR RESPONSE ON THIS
REGISTRATION OR ANY ATTACHMENT HERETO IS GROUNDS FOR DENYING OR REVOKING
THE REGISTRATION.

REGISTRANT SIGNATURE: DATE:

PRINTED NAME:

NOTICES

The Dental Hygiene Board of California of the Department of Consumer Affairs collects the personal
information requested on this form as authorized by Business and Professions Code Sections 1905,
1926.3, and 1926.4, and California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Section 1116.5. The Dental Hygiene
Board of California uses this information principally to identify and evaluate applicants for registration and to
enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation.

MANDATORY SUBMISSION:
Submission of the requested information is mandatory. The Dental Hygiene Board of California cannot
consider your registration unless you provide all the requested information.

ACCESS TO PERSONAL INFORMATION:
You may review the records maintained by the Dental Hygiene Board of California that contain your
personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act. See below for contact information.

POSSIBLE DISCLOSURE OF PERSONAL INFORMATION:
We make every effort to protect the personal information you provide us. The information you provide,
however, may be disclosed in the following circumstances:

* In response to a Public Records Act request (Government Code Sections 7920.000 through
7931.000), as allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code Sections 1798 through
1798.78);

* To another government agency as required by state or federal law; or

* Inresponse to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant.

MANDATORY DISCLOSURE OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS:

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) is
mandatory. Sections 30 and 31 of the Business and Professions Code authorize collection of your
SSN or ITIN, which will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for investigation of tax
evasion andviolations of cash-pay reporting laws as set forth in Section 329 of the Unemployment
Insurance Code, for purposes of compliance with any judgement or order for family support in
accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, for measurement of employment outcomes of
students who participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community
Colleges, or for verification of license or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which
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utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to
disclose your SSN or ITIN, your application for initial licensure will not be processed AND you may be
reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you.

STATE TAX OBLIGATION NOTICE:

The California State Board of Equalization (BOE) and the California Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may
share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay your state tax obligation and your
license may be suspended, or your renewal application denied if the state tax obligation is not paid,
andyour name appears on either the BOE or FTB certified list of top 500 tax delinquencies (Sections
31 and 494.5 of the California Business and Professions Code).

CONTACT INFORMATION:
For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may contact:

Dental Hygiene Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street,

Suite1350

Sacramento, CA 95815

(916) 263-1978

INTERNAL OFFICE USE ONLY

Date Received: Receipt #: O Initial O Renewal | $ Amount:
File #: Registration #: RDHAP Lic. Exp. Date:
Date Issued: Analyst:
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DENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA A
CUNSUMER 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350 Sacramento, CA 95815 m

AFFAIRS P (9162631978 | F (916)623-4093 | www.dhbc.ca.gov

TITLE 16. DENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA - DEPARTMENT OF
CONSUMER AFFAIRS

PROPOSED TEXT

Legend: Added text is indicated with an underline.
Deleted text is indicated by strikeout.

Amend 81116.5 in Article 4 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR)
toread as follows:

Article 4. Licensing

§ 1116.5. Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative Practice; Physical Facility
Registration.

(a) Definitions. For the purposes of this section, unless otherwise specified, the
following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Active patient” refers to a patient of record whom the registered dental hygienist
in alternative practice (RDHAP) owner or provider has examined, treated, or cared
for within the two (2) year period prior to discontinuation of practice, or the RDHAP
owner or provider moving from or leaving the city in which services were provided
to the patient.

(2) “Dental hygiene services” means the professional practices of an RDHAP as set
forth in Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 1925.

(3) “Equipment” means any tool, instrument, or device used by an RDHAP to provide
dental hygiene services.

(4) “Necessary parties” means emergency responders, medical/dental/dental hygiene
clinics, care facility or school staff, guardians, and designated family members.

(5) “Owner” means an individual licensed to practice dental hygiene in alternative
practice pursuant to BPC section 1922 in the State of California who applies for
registration or has registered a physical facility or portable equipment with the
Board pursuant to the registration requirements of this section.

(6) "Patient of record" refers to a patient who has had a medical and dental history
completed and evaluated, had oral conditions assessed and documented, and
had a written dental hygiene care plan, as defined in California Code of
Regulations (CCR), Title 16, section 1100(g), developed by the RDHAP.
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(7) “Patient treatment records” shall include the patient’s dental history maintained by
the facility related to medical history, dental hygiene evaluation(s), dental hygiene
diaghosis{es)care plan, dental hygiene procedures and treatment, response to
dental hygiene treatment, documented consultations with other dental care and
healthcare providers, and referrals for dental care and healthcare follow-up
treatment.

(8) “Physical facility” means a fixed structure in which dental hygiene services are
rendered or where portable equipment is maintained.

(9) “Portable equipment” means any tool, instrument, or device used by an RDHAP
to provide dental hygiene services designed for and capable of being carried or
moved from one location to another.

(10) “Protected Health Information (PHI)” means the patient’s “individually

identifiable health information” as defined in section 1320d of Title 42 of the

United States Code. PHI includes a patient’s medical history, or dental history,

which is a written record of the patient’s personal health history that provides

information about allergies, illnesses, surgeries, immunizations, and results of
physical exams and tests.

(11) “Provider” means an individual licensed to practice dental hygiene in
alternative practice or dentist who provides dental hygiene treatment and/or
services in an MDHC, but who is not necessarily the owner registering the
MDHC.

(b) Application for Registration.

(1) Within 30 days after the date of the issuance of their initial license, an RDHAP
shall do the following:

(A) If the RDHAP owns a physical facility or utilizes portable equipment, the
RDHAP shall register the physical facility where the dental hygiene services
are rendered, or where the portable equipment is maintained according to the
requirements of this section. The RDHAP shall register with the Executive
Officer by submitting to the Board a completed “Registered Dental Hygienists
in Alternative Practice: Registration of Physical Facilities” (form DHBC HAPR-
01 New-(31/2022Amended 11/2025)), which is hereby incorporated by
reference, and meet all of the applicable requirements of this section; or,

(B) If the RDHAP does not own a physical facility, the RDHAP shall notify the
Executive Officer by providing a written statement, signed and dated by the
RDHAP, stating that they do not own a physical facility where dental hygiene
services are rendered.
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(2) An RDHAP owner who desires to have more than one place of practice shall,
before opening the additional physical facility or facilities, apply to and obtain
permission from the Board to have the additional place of practice as provided in
this section. The RDHAP owner shall submit a completed “Registered Dental
Hygienists in Alternative Practice: Registration of Physical Facilities.” (form
DHBC HAPR-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025)), pay an additional office
permit fee of $160, and meet all of the requirements of this section before the
additional facility or facilities will be registered with the Board.

(3) The Board shall inform an RDHAP owner in writing whether the registration
application (DHBC HAPR-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025)) is complete and
accepted for filing or is deficient and what further specific information is
required. An applicant for a license who fails to complete registration application
requirements within one year after being notified by the Board of deficiencies in
their application, shall be deemed to have abandoned the application and shall
be required to file a new application and meet all of the requirements in effect at
the time of reapplication.

(4) The Board may deny or withdraw a registration or issue a citation as provided in
BPC section 1926.3 for failure to meet the requirements of this section.

(5) Upon meeting the requirements of this section, the physical facility or facilities
shall be registered with the Board and the RHBARRDHARP owner shall be
issued an office permit for the initial facility, and, if applicable, an additional
office permit ifadditional facilities are registered.

(c) Minimum Operating Requirements.

(1) An RDHAP applicant or owner shall meet all of the following requirements to
obtain or maintain registration of their facility or facilities as required by BPC
sections 1926.3 and 1926.4 and this section:

(A) There is a written procedure that specifies the means of obtaining emergency
follow-up care for patients treated at the physical facility or after use of
portable equipment. The procedure shall include arrangements an RDHAP
must make for treatment in by a licensed dentist or physician whose place of
practice is established within the city or county in which the RDHAP owner or
provider provides dental hygiene services. A copy of these written procedures
shall be given to each provider at the physical facility prior to any dental
hygiene services being performed on a patient.

(B) An RDHAP shall maintain a relationship with at least one licensed dentist
located in California for referral, consultation, and emergency services
pursuant to 16 CCR section 1117.

(C) An RDHAP shall maintain a telephone number where patients are able to
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contact the RDHAP owner or provider with questions, concerns, or
emergency needs, and have their calls returned within four (4) calendar days.
If a live person is not available to answer calls, the telephone line shall
include a recorded message with information about whom to contact in case
of a dental emergency after receiving dental hygiene services.

(D) The applicant or RDHAP owner shall comply with all state and local laws and
ordinances regarding business licensing and operations, and shall obtain and
maintain all state and local licenses and permits necessary to provide the
dental hygiene services being rendered by the applicant or provider at the
physical facility, including, a local or county business license, a county
building permit, a fictitious name permit as provided in BPC section 1962,
and/or a seller's permit if a permit is required under the Sales and Use Tax
Law, Part 1 (sections 6001 through 6024) of Division 2 of the Revenue and
Taxation Code.

(E) If the RDHAP owner or any provider performs radiographs, a radiographic
operatory must be used that complies with California Radiation Control
Regulations. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 17, Div. 1, Ch. 5, Subchapter 4, 8830100
through 30395.)

(2) Official Place of Business and Maintenance of Records.

(A) The RDHAP owner shall maintain a physical address of record for the
physical facility or facilities registered with the Board and shall notify the
Board in writing of any change in that address within thirty (30) days of the
change.

(B) An RDHAP owner shall include the name of the facility (including any fictitious
name authorized by BPC section 1962), physical address of record and office
registration number of their physical facility for all forms of advertisement,
solicitation, or other presentments made to the public in connection with the
rendition of dental hygiene services, including any advertisement, card,
letterhead, telephone listing, Internet Web site, written solicitation or
communications to a prospective patient or patients, or contract proposal.

(C) All dental hygiene patient treatment records and communications following
the discharge of a patient shall be maintained by the RDHAP owner for a
minimum of seven (7) years.

(3) In addition to the other minimum operating requirements of this section, each
physical facility shall:

(A) Use infection control equipment and follow infection control procedures
according to the requirements of 16 CCR section 1005.
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(B) Comply with HIPAA'’s security standards in Subpart C of Part 164, 45 C.F.R.
88164.302 through 164.318, with respect to the patient’s PHI. For the
purposes of thissection “HIPAA” means the Health Insurance Portability
and AccountabilityAct of 1996 (42 U.S.C. 881320d - 1320d-8) as amended
by subsequent legislation and the implementation of Privacy, Security, and
Enforcement Rules under 45 C.F.R. Part 160 and Subparts A, C, D, and E
of Part 164.

(C)Be readily accessible to and useable by individuals with disabilities pursuant
to the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)(42 U.S.C.
8812101 through 12212), in accordance with the ADA’s implementing rules
under 28 C.F.R Part 36 and Subparts A-D of Part 36. For the purposes of
this section,“disability” has the meaning set forth in Section 51 of the Civil
Code.

(D)Have access to a sufficient water supply to meet patients' health and safety
needs at all times, including hot water. Water quality shall meet guidelines set
forth in the “Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings —
2003” from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in addition to the
“Safe Drinking Water Act.” (42 U.S.C. §8300f through 300j-27.)

(E) Have toilet facilities within the dental hygiene facility available to staff and the
public.

(F) Have a covered galvanized, stainless steel, or other noncorrosive metal
container for deposit of refuse and waste materials.

(G)Have a working Automated External Defibrillator (AED).

For RDHAPs who only utilize portable equipment and do not maintain a physical
facility for patient treatment, (C), (E), and (G) of this subdivision do not apply.

H(4) If an RDHAP administers local anesthesia or performs soft tissue curettage
pursuant to 16 CCR section 1118, an RDHAP shall have availableHave a self-
contained, portable emergency oxygen unit with administration equipment
(wheeled cart with oxygen cylinder, variable regulator, demand valve system,
supplemental adult and child oxygen masks, hoses, and nasalcannulas) to assist
with administration of basic life support.

4)X(5) Each RDHAP owner shall notify the Board in writing within thirty (30) days of
anychange in operational status or ownership of all registered physical facilities.

(d) An RDHAP operator shall provide access during business hours to the RDHAP’s
records and facility to the Board, or its authorized representative(s), to review the
physical facility for compliance with all laws, regulations, and standards applicableto
physical facilities including, but not limited to, the BPC, CCR, CDC, and HIPAA.
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(e) Transferability. A physical facility registration is not transferable.

() Renewal of Physical Facility Registration. The physical facility registration shall
expire at the same time as the permit holder's RDHAP license.

(1) To renew the registration of a physical facility, an RDHAP shall submit:

(A) Form DHBC HAPR-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025) for each physical
facility;

(B) A biennial renewal fee in the amount of $250 for each additional physical
facility if the RDHAP has more than one registered with the Board; and

(C) All supporting documentation required by form DHBC HARP-01 (New
11/2022Amended 11/2025).

(2) Renewal of each physical facility registration shall be accomplished by
submission of form DHBC HARP-01 (New-11/2022Amended 11/2025), fees,
and documentationrequired in subdivision (e)(1) by either:

(A) Electronic submission through a web link to the Department of Consumer
Affairs’ online licensing system entitled “BreEZe” that is located on the
Board’s website at: https://www.dhbc.ca.gov/ using the “BREEZE” tab or the
“‘BreEZe Online System” portal at
https://lwww.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/loginCADCA.do; or

() The owner and operator shall first register for a user account by creating a

username and password.

(i) The owner and operator shall provide all required documentation
referenced in subdivision (e)(1) through the link referenced in subdivision
(e)(2)(A) of this section. With respect to the application, the owner and
operator may submit form DBHC HAPR-01 (New-11/2022Amended
11/2025) through BreEZe or electronically submit the same information
that is requested by that form directly through BreEZe.

(iii) Electronic Signature: When a signature is required by the particular
instructions of any filing to be made through the online portal, including
any attestation under penalty of perjury, the owner shall affix their
electronic signature to the filing by typing their name in the appropriate

field and submitting the filing via the Board’s online portal. Submission of a

filing in this manner shall constitute evidence of legal signature by any
individual whose name is typed on the filing.

(B) Submission of all required documentation referenced in (e)(1) by mail to the
Board’s physical address.

Dental Hygiene Proposed Text Page 6 of 8
16 CCR 1116.5 Registration of Physical Facilities 11/8/25


http://www.dhbc.ca.gov/%20using%20the
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/loginCADCA.do

(9) Identification of Personnel, Notification of Changes in Written Procedures, and
Display of Licenses.

(1) The RDHAP owner shall advise the Board in writing within thirty (30) days of any
change to any of the information provided in application form DHBC HAPR-01
(New-11/2022Amended 11/2025), whether for initial or renewal.

(2) Each RDHAP, or any other provider licensed by the Board to provide dental
hygiene services in the physical facility, shall prominently display evidence of
their California RDHAP or other Board license in a conspicuous location
accessible to public view on the premises where the RDHAP or other Board
licensee provides the licensed services of patients pursuant to BPC section 680.

(3) A licensed RDHAP engaged in the practice of dental hygiene shall provide notice
to each patient of the fact that the RDHAP is licensed and regulated by the
Board.

(A) The notice shall include the following statement and information:

NOTICE:
Dental Hygienists in Alternative Practice are licensed and regulated
by the Dental Hygiene Board of California
(916) 263-1978
www.dhbc.ca.gov

(B) The notice required by this section shall be provided by prominently
posting the notice in a conspicuous location accessible to public view on
the premises where the RDHAP provides the licensed services, and the
notice shall be in at least 48-point type font.

(h) Cessation of Operation.

(1) Upon cessation of operation of a physical facility, the owner shall notify the Board
in writing within thirty (30) days after the last day of operation and inform the
Board of the final disposition of patient treatment records, including the physical
mailing address or location where the treatment records are maintained and the
name, telephone number and address for the custodian of records or other
person whom the owner designates as responsible for maintaining those records.

(2) If a physical facility is sold to another RDHAP, that RDHAP (“succeeding RDHAP
provider”) must register with the Board by filing a new form DHBC HAPR-01
(New-11/2022Amended 11/2025) and comply with this section.

(3) Upon cessation of operation of a physical facility, the previous RDHAP owner of
the physical facility shall preserve all records for a minimum of seven (7) years.
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(4) Within thirty (30) days before the last day of operation, the RDHAP owner shall
provide written notice via first class mail to all active patients of record of the date
of closure or cessation of the physical facility, including the last date the physical
facility will remain open, and the name, telephone number and address of an
individual the patient may contact to request transfer of copies of their patient
treatment records to a succeeding provider or to the patient. The RDHAP owner
shall maintain proof the notice was provided to all active patients in accordance
with this section and upon request to the Board in accordance with BPC section
1955. Within fifteen (15) days of receipt of a written request by the patient, the
RDHAP owner shall also provide for the transfer of copies of the patient’s
treatment records, including radiographs, to the succeeding provider or to the
patient as specified by the patient. In addition, the RDHAP shall provide written
acknowledgement of receipt of the patient’s request to the patient within five (5)
business days of receipt of the request, and also notify the patient of the method
and date of expected delivery of the patient’s treatment records.

(5) “Proof the notice was provided” shall mean proof of service of any notice required
by this section to patients by mail by completion of a document showing the
document’s name and the person served, the person making service, and the
date and manner of service (e.g., by first class mail, regular mail, or in person).
Proof of service shall be in writing, but need not be signed, under oath, or in any
particular format.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1905, 1906, 1926.3, 1926.4 and 1944, Business and
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 125.6, 137, 138, 142, 680, 1922, 1925, 1926.3,
1926.4, 1955 and 1962 Business and Professions Code.
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