

- New Fees for 2010
- Law and Ethics Examination
- Western Regional Examination Board (WREB) Acceptance
- Clinical Examination Cancellation Policy
- Examination Information Update

Dental Hygiene Committee of California

Address:

2005 Evergreen Street Suite 1050 Sacramento, CA 95815

Phone:

Local-(916) 263-1978 **Toll Free-**(866) 810-9899

Fax: (916)263-2688

Web Site: www.dhcc.ca.gov



For questions regarding the information contained in this newsletter please contact Nichole Johnston at:

Nichole_Johnston@dca.ca.gov

New Fees for 2010

Effective January 1, 2010, the Dental Hygiene Committee of California began collecting an application fee of \$50.00.

All applications submitted will need to reflect the new fee. A summary of fees is provided below:

- ~RDH Examination-First time Applicants - \$575.00 Re-Exam - \$525
- ~WREB Licensure- \$50.00
- ~LBC Licensure- \$50.00

~RDHAP Licensure- \$300.0

Law and Ethics **Examination**

Since August 1, 2009, the law and ethics examination has been administered through a computer based testing company, Psychological Services Incorporated (PSI). There has been some confusion among the examination candidates and educators as to how the new

examination process works.

Examination Candidates will submit to the Dental Hygiene Committee of California (DHCC) their application for clinical examination and/or licensure. The DHCC will review applications to determine all qualifications are met. Once an application is determined to be complete, the DHCC will notify PSI of candidate's eligibility. PSI will mail a "Candidate Handbook" to each eligible person. This handbook includes information on how to schedule the examination, testing locations, and an exam study guide. Upon receipt of the handbook the candidate may schedule their exam with PSI (The candidate will need their file number located on the back of the handbook to schedule their exam). The fee for the law and ethics examination is \$23.00 and is payable to PSI (NOT DHCC). Once the candidate sits for the examination they will receive their

results instantly. DHCC will receive notice of exam results from PSI the following business day. Upon completion of the law and ethics exam and all other licensing requirements (clinical exam, fingerprint clearance, etc.) the DHCC will issue a license. Candidates can verify their license numbers on-line by selecting "License Verification" at the following website www.dhcc.ca.gov

Western Regional **Examination Board (WREB)** Acceptance

Effective January 1, 2010, the Dental Hygiene Committee of California began accepting applications for Registered Dental Hygiene (RDH) licensure through completion of the WREB examination.

For further information regarding application requirements please visit our website at:

http://www.dhcc.ca.gov/applicants/bec omelicensed rdh wreb.shtml

Clinical Examination Cancellation Policy

All requests for cancellation of the clinical examination must be received a minimum of 30 days prior to the first day of examination.

Requests made less than 30 days prior to the exam are not eligible for refund of the exam fee. The \$50 application fee is nonrefundable, and a fee will be charged for all returned checks.

Examination Information Update

The examination information was revised in January, 2010. The most significant change was an increase in the number of tooth surfaces that may exceed 6mm in pocket depth. A patient will not be rejected because he/she has two probing surfaces greater than 6 mm. The updated examination information will be included with all candidate scheduling notices and is available on the DHCC website at www.dhcc.ca.gov

