

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE Board of California REGISTERED DENTAL HYGIENIST (RDH)



Please **<u>READ</u>** all instructions and general information prior to completing this application. <u>ALL</u> questions on this application must be answered, and all supporting documents must be submitted with this application as per instructions. If something does not apply to you, write "N/A". Failure to do so may cause a delay in processing your application. When space provided is insufficient, attach additional sheets of paper. Please type or print neatly; illegible applications will be returned.

	APPLICAT	ION FEES				
Applications received without applicable fees will not be processed and will be returned to the sender as incomplete.						
	ALL FEES ARE NO	ON-REFUND	DABLE			
APPLICATION FEE: \$ 200.00 (E	Breakdown of fee -	\$100 Applic	ation Fee,	\$100 License	Issuance Fee)	
Payment must be made by personal check,	cahier's check, busi	ness check o	or money c	order and mu	st be payable to "DHBC".	
	PERSONAL IN	IFORMAT	ION			
1. Name: Last	First		Middle			
2. Other Names/Aliases						
3. Social Security Number/Individual Taxpayer Identification Number 4. Birthdate (MM/DD/YYYY)						
5. Address of Record/Mailing Address*						
(*Once licensed, the address of record will	be posted on the i	nternet and	be disclos	ed to the pu	blic upon request.)	
Number and Street (including apartment r	number, if applicabl	e)				
		_				
City		State			Zip Code	
6. Email Address (Required)						
7. Telephone Numbers (Required)						
Home	Cell			Work		

EDUCATION AND RDH PROFESSIONAL EXAMINATIONS REQUIREMENTS

8. Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA)-Approved RDH Educational Program Attended						
Name of RDH Educational Program	Telephone number	Graduatio	on Date			
Address: Number and Street	City	State	Zip Code	2		
National Board Dental Hygiene Examination Administered by the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations						
9. Have you successfully passed the Dental Hygiene Nation	al Board?		*YES	NO		
*Provide an original "score report" and the date on which you successfully passed the dental hygiene national board. Date:						

2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1350, Sacramento, CA 95815-3893 • (916) 263-1978 • FAX: (916) 263-2688 • www.dhbc.ca.gov

RDH Clinical Examination Requirements							
10. Have you successful	ly passed an RDH cli	nical examination?*	lf yes, pleas	e indicate th	ie exam passed	*YES	NO
and date of completion (Exam must be taken within 3 years from the date of application):							
\Box American Board of De	ental Examiners (AD	EX) Date:					
Central Regional Den	tal Testing (CRDTS)	Date:					
🗆 Western Regional Bo	ard Exam (WREB)	Date:					
NOTE: If you have failed you MUST provide the "(•		-		ore was received,		
11. Have you ever taken		on where you impos	ed gross tra	uma?		*YES	NO
*If YES, please explain in	Section #25.						
12. Have you failed three	e or more clinical ex	aminations, includin	g any exami	nations with	any testing	*YES	NO
agencies or boards?							
*If YES, provide the exan	nination results alon	g with the "Dental H	lygiene Sum	mary Profile	Sheet".		
California RDH Law and	Ethics Examination	Administered by the	e DHBC				
13. Have you previously	taken the California	RDH Law and Ethics	examinatio	n?		*YES	NO
*If YES, provide the date	that you last took t	he exam. Date:					
14. Do you have a certifi	ed disability or conc	lition that requires s	pecial accon	nmodations	for testing?	*YES	NO
*If YES, contact the DHB	C for a "Special Acco	ommodations" packe	rt.				
Completion of Approve	d Specified Coursew	ork for Non-Californ	nia Graduate	es or Gradua	tes Completing RI	DH Educat	ional
Programs Prior to 1985.							
15. You must provide the date and attach documentation of successful completion for DHBC-approved courses in:							
Soft Tissue Curettage Date:							
Administration of Local Anesthesia Date:							
□ Administration of Nitrous Oxide/Oxygen Analgesia Date:							
Completion of an American Dental Association-Approved Radiation Safety Course* Date:							
*You must provide certification of acceptable radiation safety instruction on the form provided by the DHBC or you will not be							
allowed to expose dental radiographs.							
LICENSE HISTORY							
Professional License or Certification History.							
16. Are you, or have you ever been licensed, certified, or otherwise registered in any manner in any *YES NO							
state, country, territory, or with any federal agency in any health care occupation?							
*All license/certificates MUST be listed regardless of status. If the current status is anything other than							
active (inactive, suspended, revoked, probation, or other) please explain in Section # 25. Type of Licensure State or Country License Number Date of Licensure Current Status of License (active, active)							
Type of Licensure	State or Country	License Number	Date of L	licensure	Current Status		-
inactive, suspended, revoked,							
FROM TO probation, other, explain.							

DISCIPLINARY HISTORY

*If you answer YES to any of the questions in this section, you must attach a written narrative that includes the incident date, location, and outcome. Attach ALL official documents that may include arrest, hearing and court orders. If disciplined by another regulatory body, ALL certified documents must be attached with a letter of explanation. Include any disciplinary actions by the U.S. Military, U.S, Public Health Services, or any other U.S. governmental agency.

17. Have you ever had a license be formally disciplined and be charged with, or have been found to have	*YES	NO
committed any unprofessional conduct, incompetence, gross negligence, or malpractice by any licensing		
Board, government agency or other disciplinary body?		
"Discipline" includes but is not limited to, suspension, revocation, surrender, probation, or any other		
restriction. "License" includes permits, registrations and certificates.		
18. In lieu of any formal discipline, have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to practice any level	*YES	NO
of dentistry, including but not limited to hygiene or assisting, in any state, region, country, or U.S. Federal		
jurisdiction?		
19. Have you ever been denied a license, registration or permit to practice dental hygiene or permission	*YES	NO
to take any examination in any state, region, or country?		

MILITARY EXPEDITE

*If you answer "Yes" to any of the questions in this section, please see the application checklist for documentation required to expedite application review. Failure to do so may result in application review delays.

20. Are you serving in, or have you previously served in the United States Military?	*YES	NO
21. Are you married to, or in a domestic partnership or other legal union, with an active duty member of	*YES	NO
the Armed Forces of the United States who is assigned to a duty station in California under official active		
duty military orders and do you hold a current dental hygiene license?		

REFUGEES, ASYLEES AND SPECIAL IMMIGRANT VISA HOLDERS EXPEDITE

	Yes" to any of the questions in this section, please see the application checklist for docume lication review. Failure to do so may result in application review delays.	entation re	quired
22. Do any of th	e following statements apply to you?	*YES	NO
•	You were admitted to the United States as a refugee pursuant to section 1157 of title 8 of the United States Code;		
•	You were granted asylum by the Secretary of Homeland Security or the United States Attorney General pursuant to section 1158 of title 8 of the United States Code; or,		
•	You have a special immigrant visa and were granted a status pursuant to section 1244 of Public Law 110-181, Public Law 109-163, or section 602(b) of title VI of division F of Public Law 111-8, relating to Iraqi and Afghan translators/interpreters or those who worked for or on behalf of the United States government.		

PHOTOGRAPH

INSTRUCTIONS Photographs must be not more than 30 days old and must be of the head and shoulders only.		
Attach a 2" x 2" color PASSPORT photo in this space. Scanned, altered or self-printed photos are not acceptable.		

ADDITIONAL EXPLANATIONS

25. If you need space for additional answers to any of the application questions, list the question number and provide additional information as needed.

APPLICATION CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that I have read the questions in the foregoing application and that all information, statement, attachment, and representations provided by me in this application are true and correct. By submitting the application and signing below, I am granting permission to the Board or its assignees and agents to verify the information provided ant to perform any investigation pertaining to the information I have provided as the Board deems necessary.

NOTICE: FALSIFICATION OR MISREPRESENTATION OF ANY ITEM OR RESPONSE ON THIS APPLICATION OR ANY ATTACHMENT HERETO IS GROUNDS FOR DENYING OR REVOKING A LICENSE.

APPLICATION SIGNATURE: ______ DATE: ______

PRINTED NAME: ______

NOTICES

The Dental Hygiene Board of California of the Department of Consumer Affairs collects the personal information requested on this form as authorized by Business and Professions Code Sections 1905 and 1917, and California Code of Regulations Sections 1076 and 1077. The Dental Hygiene Board of California uses this information principally to identify and evaluate applicants for licensure, issue and renew licenses and enforce licensing standards set by law and regulation.

2005 Evergreen St., Suite 1350, Sacramento, CA 95815-3893 • (916) 263-1978 • FAX: (916) 263-2688 • www.dhbc.ca.gov

MANDATORY SUBMISSION

Submission of the requested information is mandatory. The Dental Hygiene Board of California cannot consider your application for licensure or renewal unless you provide all the requested information.

ACCESS TO PERSONAL INFORMATION.

You may review the records maintained by the Dental Hygiene Board of California that contain your personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act. See below for contact information.

POSSIBLE DISCLOSURE OF PERSONAL INFORMATION.

We make every effort to protect the personal information you provide us. The information you provide, however, may be disclosed in the following circumstances:

- In response to a Public Records Act request (Government Code Section 6250 and following), as allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code Section 1798 and following);
- To another government agency as required by state or federal law; or
- In response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant.

MANDATORY DISCLOSURE OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS

Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) is mandatory. Sections 30 and 31 of the Business and Professions Code authorize collection of your SSN or ITIN, which will be used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for investigation of tax evasion and violations of cash-pay reporting laws as set forth in Section 329 of the Unemployment Insurance Code, for purposes of compliance with any judgement or order for family support in accordance with Section 17520 of the Family Code, for measurement of employment outcomes of students who participate in career technical education programs offered by the California Community Colleges, or for verification of license or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to disclose your SSN or ITIN, your application for initial licensure will not be processed AND you may be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a \$100 penalty against you.

STATE TAX OBLIGATION NOTICE

The California State Board of Equalization (BOE) and the California Franchise Tax Board (FTB) may share taxpayer information with the Board. You are required to pay your state tax obligation and your license may be suspended, or your renewal application denied if the state tax obligation is not paid and your name appears on either the BOE or FTB certified list of top 500 tax delinquencies (Sections 31 and 494.5 of the California Business and Professions Code).

CONTACT INFORMATION.

For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may contact: Dental Hygiene Board of California 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350 Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 263-1978 For questions about the Department of Consumer Affairs' privacy policy or the Information Practices Act, you may contact: The California Office of Privacy Protection Department of Consumer Affairs 1625 N. Market Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834 (866) 785-9663 Email: privacy@dca.ca.gov

INTERNAL OFFICE USE ONLY

RDH School:	Receipt #		\$ Amount:				
Graduation Date:		File No.					
Clearances: Photo DOJ FBI Exams: NB ADEX CRDTS WREB Coursework:			Coursework: XRAY 🛛 SLN 🗌				
Expedite: Military Refugee/Asylee/Special Immigrant Out of State License: RDH DDS RDA/RDAEF			🗆 DDS 🗆 RDA/RDAEF 🗆				
Discipline 🗆							