## How To Qualify for a RDHAP License

Possess a current active RDH license.

Completes a RDHAP dental hygiene educational program.

Apply for the RDHAP license with supporting requirements.
(See checklist)

Once licensure
application is
approved by DHBC,
schedule and pass
the RDHAP CA Law &
Ethics Examination.

License Issued

## **Application for RDHAP Licensure Checklist**

- ☐ Application Fee \$100 and Initial Licensure Fee \$150 (\$250 total). Credit Cards when applying online at <a href="https://www.breeze.ca.gov">www.breeze.ca.gov</a>. Paper applications -acceptable forms of payment are personal check, cashiers check or money order payable to DHBC.
- ☐ Copy of your current active RDH Pocket License. Online applicants submit electronically.
- ☐ RDHAP program certificate of completion. Online applicants submit electronically.
- ☐ Diploma showing completion of a Bachelor's degree, or its equivalent. electronically.

  (Provide certified copies of transcripts showing the equivalency of 120 semester units). You MUST provide and itemized list of completed courses and units from each college attended if qualifying by Equivalency.
- "Certification of Dental Hygiene Clinical Practice Hours" form. Online applicants submit electronically.
- □ "Documentation of RDHAP Relationship with Dentist" form. Online applicants submit electronically.
- ☐ Live Scan Fingerprints Online applicants submit electronically. or Hard Card Fingerprints Hard card Fingerprints must be mailed to the DHBC.
- ☐ Current Photograph (passport size). Online applicants submit electronically.

## If applicable, include documentation to support the following: Online applicants must submit electronically.

- Licensure certification form(s) from each state that you now hold or ever have held a valid license in; regardless of the status of the license (i.e., Active, Expired, Canceled, Revoked).
- o Licensure certification form(s) from the Dental Board of California if you have ever held a valid RDA or RDAEF license regardless of the status. (i.e., Active, Expired, Canceled, Revoked).
- Legal Name Change Documents.
- Active Military/Military Spouse Documentation.
- o Refugees, asylees, and special immigrant visa holder documentation.
- o Special Accommodation Request.

If applicable, submit License Certification/Verification from every state where you have been issued a professional or vocational license; regardless of the current status of that license (i.e. Active, Expired, Cancelled, Revoked, etc.). <u>Out-of-State Licensure Certification Form Online applicants submit electronically.</u>

## Information Only! Links to New Laws that affect the RDHAP licensure:

- <u>Attention: Reporting Dental Relationships Between Registered Dental Hygienists in</u> Alternative Practice and Licensed Dentists – Effective July 1, 2022
- RDHAP Information for STC and LA Administration
- RDHAP In-service Training Announcement
- Attention: Important Continuing Education Information

**IMPORTANT Note:** A license cannot be issued until the Dental Hygiene Board of California has received and reviewed criminal background information from both the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the California Department of Justice. This process can take much longer if a criminal history does exist.

IT IS A CRIMINAL OFFENSE TO PRACTICE DENTAL HYGIENE IN CALIFORNIA WITHOUT FIRST RECEIVING AN RDH LICENSE UNLESS UNDER THE TERMS OF THE FEDERAL SERVICEMEMBERS CIVIL RELIEF ACT (SCRA).

Laws and regulations specifically define the duties that each licensed category of dental hygienist is allowed to perform, the level of dentist supervision required, and the settings in which the duties may be performed. It is a criminal offense to perform illegal functions, as well as grounds for license discipline of both the person performing the illegal function and any person who aid or abets such illegal activity.

The duties and responsibilities that RDHAP are allowed to perform are specified in Sections 1922 through 1931 of the Business and Professions Code. You may download a publication of our laws and regulations.

For specific questions about the RDHAP Application or Examination, please contact the DHBC at (916) 263-2572 or <a href="mailto:dhbcapplicantsinfo@dca.ca.gov">dhbcapplicantsinfo@dca.ca.gov</a> or review the information on our website at www.dhbc.ca.gov.