Dental Hygiene Board of California (DHBC) Coronavirus Updates
April 1, 2021
March 23, 2021
At the Board’s March 6, 2021 Board meeting, the Board voted to temporarily extend the acceptance of the alternative mannequin-based dental hygiene clinical examinations administered by ADEX, CRDTS, and WREB from March 31, 2021 until August 31, 2021 due to the current COVID-19 environment. Also, as of January 1, 2021, the Board’s law to accept approved clinical exam results to apply toward a dental hygiene license was extended from two (2) years to three (3) years. You can review this change in Business and Professions Code section 1917.
-Dental Hygiene Board of California
March 12, 2021
Federal Retail Pharmacy Program & Vaccine Appointments: The Federal Retail Pharmacy Program has been activated with select pharmacy partners. California’s current pharmacy partners are CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens and Albertsons. Pharmacy partners are now offering COVID-19 vaccines in their select store locations. For eligibility and scheduling, visit the California Department of Public Health’s Federal Retail Pharmacy Program page.
March 1, 2021
How To Get Vaccinated
Learn more about how to get vaccinated by visiting the state’s COVID-19 website https://covid19.ca.gov/vaccines/#How-to-get-vaccinated. The state’s website has information on vaccination eligibility, how to sign up for an appointment via MyTurn.ca.gov, local health jurisdiction resources, and more. Additionally, CVS, Rite Aid and Walgreen pharmacies now offer limited appointments for free COVID-19 vaccinations in select areas. Visit https://covid19.ca.gov/vaccines/#How-to-get-vaccinated for more information.
February 16, 2021
The Board has been informed that the DCA Director has authorized a new waiver (DCA-21-113) that provides the authority for Registered Dental Hygienists to administer the COVID-19 vaccines to individuals 16 years or older after the completion of the required COVID trainings and under the supervision of a dentist or physician and surgeon who has also completed the required COVID training and must be physically present at the location. The link below provides the waiver information in detail and where to obtain additional information on this issue.
Order Waiving Restrictions on Registered Dental Hygienists Relating to Administering COVID-19 Vaccines (ca.gov)
December 18, 2020
The Board has temporarily closed its office to the public as a result of the administration’s 3 week stay-at-home order. As additional information arises, it will be posted to keep the public informed.
December 18, 2020
For information about California’s planned rollout of the COVID-19 vaccine, please review information on the Vaccinate All 58 page of the COVID19.ca.gov website, found here: https://covid19.ca.gov/vaccines/
October 7, 2020
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, some license applicants have had limited or no access to the examinations needed for licensure. The California Department of Consumer Affairs Director issued a waiver (DCA 20-66) to give more time to dental hygiene applicants to take the examinations necessary for licensure, a required step to obtain a license with Dental Hygiene Board of California (DHBC).
Details of this waiver can be found at: https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/dca_20_66.pdf.
September 14, 2020
Governor Newsom and the DCA Executive Director approved to amend and extend the approved Wet Laboratory Waiver (DCA 20-56) until December 31, 2020. This approval and extension will allow students enrolled in prerequisite biomedical science coursework in the Fall of 2020 to obtain credit for these courses with the labs completed online or other educational institution approved methods for entry into the dental hygiene educational programs. To view the waiver, please click on this link and scroll down to the appropriate waiver number:
If you have any questions, please contact the Board. Thank you.
September 2, 2020
At its August 29, 2020 Board meeting, the Board voted to temporarily accept the CRDTS and ADEX mannequin-based dental hygiene examinations and the WREB mannequin-based dental hygiene examination, if available, due to the COVID-19 pandemic in addition to the live, patient-based clinical examinations administered by WREB and CRDTS to fulfill the clinical examination licensure requirement. The temporary acceptance of the mannequin-based exams is valid for six months, unless extended, from the date of the Board meeting (Saturday, August 29, 2020) until March 1, 2021. Thank you.
August 10, 2020
Message from the Center for Disease Control:
Stay informed about quality online trainings from CDC, other federal agencies, and federally funded partners with CDC Learning Connection. Share this link with your colleagues and encourage them to sign up for the newsletter! Thank you.
July 15, 2020
For those licensees whose licenses expire at the end of July and August 2020, the approved Continuing Education (CE) Waiver was extended for you to be able to renew your dental hygiene licenses despite being deficient in your CE hours at the time of your license expiration due to the COVID-19 pandemic (waiver DCA-20-27). You will have six (6) months from July 1, 2020 to make up the deficient CE hours, unless the waiver is extended. Please do not submit your CE certificates of completion to the Board, but maintain them in case selected for a CE audit. The CE hours to be made up are to fill the void left from your 2020 CE deficiency and cannot be credited toward your next license renewal. Thank you.
The Department of Consumer Affairs also notified the Board that Waiver DCA-20-35 pertaining to wet laboratory requirements for biomedical science courses was approved. Its effective date is for 60 days from July 13, 2020 unless amended or extended. Here is the link to the waiver: https://www.dca.ca.gov/licensees/dca_20_35.pdf
June 23, 2020
Additional important information from the CDC regarding COVID-19
For those dental hygienists in need of additional information about the return to dental practice, here is a link to the Center for Disease Control’s (CDC) webinar for Guidance for Dental Settings during COVID-19. The CDC is a very beneficial resource for the latest information for safety guidance and procedures during the pandemic. https://emergency.cdc.gov/coca/calls/2020/callinfo_060320.asp?fbclid=IwAR2GhwefIMDxsj_lO7c6deX9Cas7vUQJqRld1EMzuIYAaoI_2BBbFG4wadk
June 22, 2020
Dental Hygiene Board of California Offices Reopen to the Public
In response to state and local stay at home orders to help reduce the spread of COVID-19, the Dental Hygiene Board of California temporarily closed its office to the public in March. Following a detailed risk assessment and implementation of a COVID-19 prevention plan, we reopened our offices to the public on June 15. Our office will resume normal hours of operation Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we work under new protocols and procedures and continue to adjust to this ever-changing situation.
Safety Protocols and Physical Distancing Measures
In accordance with California’s Resilience Roadmap and guidance from the California Department of Public Health, the Dental Hygiene Board of California has implemented the following preventive measures to safeguard the health and safety of our employees and visitors:
- Prevention plan processes and procedures
- Employee training on preventing the spread of COVID-19
- Individual control measures and screenings
- Cleaning and disinfecting protocols
- Physical distancing guidelines
Online Resources and Services
To help support physical distancing, we encourage our stakeholders to continue to take advantage of our online resources and services:
- If you need to renew your existing license, would like to apply for a new license, or make changes to your information, we strongly encourage you to log onto your BreEZe account at BreEZe.ca.gov.
- If you need to make a payment, we encourage you to do so online or send a check or money order to: Dental Hygiene Board of California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350, Sacramento, CA 95815.
- If you would like to file a complaint, we strongly encourage you to do so by visiting https://www.dca.ca.gov/consumers/complaints/consumer.shtml.
As we continue to monitor the COVID-19 situation, the Dental Hygiene Board of California remains committed to updating our stakeholders and maintaining safe delivery of our programs and services. For additional information and updates, visit www.dhbc.ca.gov.
May 14, 2020
The U.S. Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) released this information to keep dental practitioners safe while returning to dental practice. Here is the link to their press release:
May 12, 2020
RETURN TO WORK INFORMATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENISTS
The Dental Hygiene Board of California understands and is sympathetic to the uncertain environment that the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has created for our licensees. Our mandate is to ensure the health and safety of California consumers by promoting ethical standards and enforcing the laws that govern the dental hygiene profession.
As of May 8, the Governor’s stay home order was modified. California is now in the first phase of Stage 2. Under Stage 2, deferred and preventive dental care may be resumed. Those performing these activities will not be violating the stay home order.
Considering the order modification, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) issued Guidance for Resuming Deferred and Preventative Dental Care. The Board believes the resumption of deferred and preventative dental care can be successfully completed if the guidelines are followed. We want dental hygienists to return to work as quickly as possible, but in the safest possible manner for all involved including practitioners and patients alike.
We thank you for your patience and all you do for the consumer in providing preventative dental hygiene care and education. Be safe and well.
May 3, 2020
The link below provides important information from the California Dental Hygienists’ Association (CDHA) about dental practice and adhering to Governor Newsom’s Stay-at-Home Order with links to agencies regarding COVID-19 pandemic and possible return-to-work issues. Please also review the Board’s prior posted link to the California Department of Public Health’s memo about Resuming California’s Deferred and Preventive Health Care.
April 29, 2020
April 27, 2020
Are you struggling to pay your rent during the COVID-19 pandemic? Here’s what you need to know. https://twitter.com/CAbcsh/status/1253811283947737088
Tiene dificultades para pagar el alquiler durante la pandemia de COVID-19? Esto es lo que necesita saber. https://twitter.com/CAbcsh/status/1253811427577442304
If you have a private student loan and are struggling to make your payments due to COVID-19, you may be eligible for payment relief. Please click here for more information: https://dbo.ca.gov/private-student-loans-faq/
April 15, 2020
Dental Hygiene Clinical examinations – many of the clinical examinations administered by WREB and CRDTS have been cancelled and rescheduled for a future date due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The schedules are tentative depending upon the shelter-in-place and limit on gatherings orders approved by the Governor. Please check the examination schedules at the exam administrator’s respective websites for further information at: www.wreb.org and www.crdts.org
Dental Hygiene Law and Ethics examinations for RDH and RDHAP applicants – PSI, the administrator of the examination, has resumed testing at their sites on a limited basis for those applicants who are deemed qualified. The testing locations are as follows:
PSI has opened scheduling for the following twelve sites:
- Atascadero, CA
- El Monte - Santa Fe Springs, CA
- Riverside - Mission Grove, CA
- Santa Clara, CA
- Santa Rosa, CA
- Ventura, CA
- Visalia, CA
- Agoura Hills, CA
- Lawndale, CA
- Redding, CA
- Sacramento, CA
- San Francisco, CA
Various days are available at the twelve specified sites above, so please contact the chosen site for further testing information and to schedule a date.
April 7, 2020
The Dental Hygiene Board has been in communication with the Department of Public Health and they have provided the information below. The link and information pertains to the Guidance for Dentistry information posted on the CDPH website.
This guidance is based on what is currently known about the transmission and severity of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) and the implications for dental practice. The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) will update this guidance as additional information becomes available.
This document aims to provide statewide guidance regarding the treatment of patients with dental emergencies. In alignment with the recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the American Dental Association (ADA) and the American Dental Hygienists, we recommend the postponement of routine procedures, surgeries, and non-urgent dental visits during this period of the pandemic. Limiting dental practices to treating patients with emergencies will both reduce the risk of COVID-19 disease exposure and preserve the nation’s limited personal protective equipment (PPE) supplies.
According to the CDC, COVID-19 is a new disease and is thought to spread mainly between people who are in close contact with one another (within about 6 feet) through respiratory droplets produced when an infected person coughs or sneezes. Dental procedures that use dental instruments (such as handpieces and ultrasonic scalers) and air-water syringes create a spray that can contain contaminated droplets. This spray can also contain aerosols. Therefore, caring for patients with COVID-19 requires Transmission-Based Precautions that are in addition to Standard Precautions. Therefore, we recommend that dental health care personnel:
- Postpone routine procedures, surgeries, and non-urgent dental visits and direct patients to call the office for guidance if they feel they have a dental emergency. All dentists should be available for emergencies of their patients of record or have arranged coverage with another provider. Guidance from the ADA can be found on the ADA website (PDF).
- Perform only those procedures that are needed to treat dental emergencies (e.g., uncontrolled bleeding, severe pain, trauma, cellulitis). The urgency of a procedure is a decision based on clinical judgment and should be made on a case-by-case basis. Guidance from the ADA can be found on the ADA website (PDF).
- Screen all patients before they enter the dental office for COVID-19 risk, including fever, respiratory symptoms or potential exposure and triage appropriately. Patients with fever, respiratory symptoms or potential COVID-19 exposure who need to enter the dental office for urgent consultation should be provided a surgical mask and isolated from others.
March 30, 2020
This link will provide additional and up to date information for COVID-19 pandemic. Please go to: www.covid19.ca.gov Thank you.
March 20, 2020
Due to recommendations and guidance from local and state health officials to help prevent the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19), our headquarters building is closed to the public until further notice. However, our office remains open for employees during this pandemic. During this time you may experience some delays in reaching staff and we appreciate your patience. We apologize for any inconvenience. Please email us with any questions at email@example.com.
If you need to renew your existing license, would like to apply for a new license, or make changes to your information, we strongly encourage you to log onto your BreEZe account at www.BreEZe.ca.gov. If you would like to file a complaint, we strongly encourage you to do so by visiting https://www.dca.ca.gov/consumers/complaints/consumer.shtml.
If you need to make a payment, we encourage you to do so online or send a check or money order to: Dental Hygiene Board of California, 2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1350, Sacramento, CA 95815.
March 20, 2020
While California continues to navigate the uncertainty of Novell Coronavirus (COVID-19) and limit its spread, the Dental Hygiene Board of California (DHBC) is committed to supporting our licensees, applicants, and consumers throughout the course of this pandemic and to provide continuity of service at all times. The DHBC is closely monitoring the COVID-19 situation, coordinating with the state and local governments, and working with our partners to protect the health of Californians.
The DHBC understands the ability to perform your jobs with a license is a priority. We appreciate your patience as we work on implementing new technologies to work remotely and adhere to social distancing guidelines. We apologize in advance for any delays in reaching our staff or potential delays in our processing times.
We have received a number of inquiries from our licensees. We are providing the below FAQ’s in an effort to provide information.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Will Continuing Education Requirements Be Postponed?
At this time the law does not allow this.
2. Are There Fee Waivers Available?
At this time the law does not allow this.
3. Should My Business or Practice Remain Open?
The DHBC does not have authority to close businesses or practices as a result of COVID-19 or any other reason. We strongly encourage you to assess whether your business is an essential job function as outlined by the Governor and follow the guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Check with your local county health department to determine what activities are also considered essential and non-essential.
4. If I continue to practice dental hygiene, what information can the Board provide to help keep myself and my patients safe?
The Board has provided several links to experts who have the latest information about the Coronavirus. The three links above and these two links to agencies that can provide the latest information can help you to be informed. California Department of Industrial Relations – Cal/OSHA: www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/ and the California Labor and Workforce Development Agency www.labor.ca.gov
5. My Exam Was Canceled and I’m Unable to Reschedule. What Does that Mean?
The DHBC is in communication with PSI so that we are informed of when the Law and Ethics examinations administered through their computer systems will resume. The testing centers have been temporarily closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. PSI contact information is available in the candidate handbook sent to examinees prior to registering for the exam to obtain the latest information.
6. I am licensed in a state outside of California. Does California allow licensing reciprocity during the State of Emergency?
If you are a licensed healthcare provider in a state other than California, please visit the Emergency Medical Services Authority (https://emsa.ca.gov/covid19/) for information to be able to practice in California. Please visit the “Authorization of Out-Of-State Medical Personnel” section on this website (this is for medical information only and does not pertain to dental hygiene).
The DHBC reminds all licensees to be particularly mindful and respectful that this is a time of high anxiety for all Californians.
We encourage any other inquiries to be sent through email to: firstname.lastname@example.org as a response time may be faster.
ATTENTION DENTAL HYGIENE BOARD OF CALIFORNIA APPLICANTS – UPDATE ON PSI TEST SITES
The Dental Hygiene Board has been notified that PSI has made the difficult decision to close their owned and operated test centers to help reduce the spread of COVID-19. Please see the message from the PSI CEO related to these closures here: https://www.psionline.com/blog/psi-services-ceo-owned-and-operated-test-center-closures-in-the-us.
Effective immediately, candidates can reschedule up to and including the day of testing at no penalty and no documentation required. NOTE: In most cases, candidates can reschedule their examinations on-line and they are encouraged to do so. If a candidate chooses to reschedule through the PSI candidate support call center, hold times are expected to be extensive under the current circumstances. The PSI test sites in the United States will close starting the end of day today, March 19 until April 13. PSI will be calling all scheduled candidates that are not registered with an email address. A PSI staff person will be calling candidates starting today through Saturday. After that, an automated phone message will be used to contact candidates. The PSI toll-free line is averaging 4,000 calls per hour. Candidates should expect an unprecedented delay in reaching a live person. The online tool is available to candidates for rescheduling.
The closure of these PSI locations will impact Dental Hygiene Board applicants eligible to take the following examinations:
- Registered Dental Hygienist Law and Ethics Examination
- Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative Practice Law and Ethics Examination